About Us

It is an advisory Board which gives advice to Government regarding formulation of Annual and five Year Plans. The Head of the board is the Chairman. The Board may also consist of Co-Chairmen, Deputy Chairmen and other Members as may be decided by the Government from time to time. On some occasion, while deciding on the members, experts have also been included in the board. Meetings are held by the Board from time to time with the Government Departments to advise in plan formulation and implementation of Plan Schemes including review thereof.

The State Planning Board falls under the administrative control of the Planning Department. The Principal Secretary/Commissioner & Secretary Planning Department who are official Members of State Planning Board advises the Board on matters of planning and development. The Board maintains a close co-ordination with Planning Department while discharging its functions as per the terms of reference outlined by the government. The views/suggestions of the State Planning Board is often sought by Planning Department in other related issues of planning and development in the state.

The Board may also make recommendations with a view to ensuring coordination in the matter of Planning in the State. The Headquarter of the Board is at Shillong.

The State Planning Board is an Advisory Board which gives advice to Government regarding formulation of Annual and Five Year Plans. The Head of the Board is the Chairman. The State Planning Board was first constituted on 7th September, 1972 by an executive order. Originally the Board was constituted with 1 (one) Chairman, 1 (one) Deputy Chairman, 5 (five) Members and 1 Member Adviser. The Board was constituted with the following Members vide Notification No.PLR.65/72/37 dated Shillong, the 7th September, 1972.

1. Chief Minister Chairman
2. Minister, Planning Deputy Chairman
3. Chief Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya Member
4. Financial Commissioner and Special - Secretary to the Govt. of Meghalaya, Planning Department Member
5. Shri P.R. Kyndiah, MLA Member
6. Shri Reidson Momin, MLA Member
7. Shri Hoover Hynniewta, MLA Member
8. Shri E.H.Pakyntein Member-Adviser

During the 2004-2007, the State Planning Board have taken up

  • to advise the govt. regarding formulation of the respective annual Plans and the 11th Five Year Plan. The Board submits its views/recommendations to the state govt. after a series of meetings and discussions with the development departments.
  • to review the progress of implementation of Plan schemes annually. For the purpose of reviewing the progress/achievements of implementation of Plan schemes more effectively, the Chairman has constituted six Working Groups under the chairmanship of the Co-Chairmen/Deputy Chairmen who are to take up the review meetings of the departments allotted to the respective Working Groups. In this context also the views/suggestions of the Working Groups were conveyed to the state govt. and the concerned departments.

During 2005-2006, the State Planning Board also conducted District Meetings in all the District Headquarters of the state to review the progress of implementation and achievements of Plan Schemes in the districts.

Site Inspection of important projects in the state viz., Myntdu-Leishka etc.were also conducted by the State Planning Board and Working Groups.